CricketT20 World Cup

ICC Announced the Groups for T20 World Cup 2024 – Check India and Pakistan

ICC has announced the groups for the T20 Cricket World Cup 2024, which is all set to take place in the USA and West Indies from 4th June to 30th June. The topic that has gained the most popularity is that India and Pakistan are in the same group and will be contesting against each other. After the bitter final defeat in the finals of CWC’23, Indian fans’ only escape has been the upcoming T20 World Cup. The fans are expecting the Indian Cricket team to bring the trophy home.

Participating Teams in T20 Cricket World Cup 2024 –

2024 T20 World Cup probable groups revealed - Telegraph - NewsWire

As the host, the USA, and West Indies occupied the first 2 places, then the spots for the 2024 T20 World Cup were awarded to the teams who placed in the top four of the two Super 12 groups at the previous T20 World Cup tournament held in Australia. The next best teams that got a place in the 2024 T20 World Cup were Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

In the new format introduced by the ICC, instead of Global Qualifiers the focus was sent upon the regional qualifiers, Hence two qualifying berths were awarded to each of Africa, Asia, and Europe, while the Americas East Asia, and Pacific each received one spot. Using this approach, the teams from Ireland, Canada, Namibia, Scotland, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Uganda, and Nepal have qualified.

The Groups of T20 Cricket World Cup 2024 –

Group A Group B Group C Group D
India England New Zealand South Africa
Pakistan Australia West Indies Sri Lanka
Ireland Namibia Afghanistan Bangladesh
Canada Scotland Uganda Netherlands
USA Oman Png Nepal

The highlight from Group A is that India and Pakistan will be facing each other, whereas underdog teams like Ireland, Canada, and the USA might surprise the giants.

In Group B, England and Australia will compete against each other and it will be interesting to see who will top the group.

Group C can be said as the group of death, where the majority of the competition will be among New Zealand, the West Indies, and Afghanistan. It will be fun to watch which two teams will be able to seize the top 2 spots.

Group D will also see a triangle fight, where South Africa, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh will try to pull up their game against each other but an upset might be in the books as we know the Netherlands is a well-growing squad.

Format of T20 Cricket World Cup 2024 –


The Top 2 teams from each group will directly qualify for the Super 8 stage of the T20 Cricket World Cup 2024. The Qualifying teams will be then split into two groups of 4 each, and then the top 2 teams from each group will enter the Semi-Finals of the T20 World Cup. Finally, the two winning teams will play the finals, and winner of that will lift the trophy.

The complete fixtures of the ICC World T20 2024 –

Recently, ICC released the complete fixtures of the ICC World T20 2024, The much awaited game of India vs Pakistan is all set to take place in New York on 9th June 2023. Following is the complete fixture –



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *