ICC Men’s Team of the Year 2023: ICC has Created a Fictitious Team of Best Players in Every Format

These players have impressive records in their respective formats and ICC feels that if these players had been in the same team then the scenario would have been different.


Test Format – 

According to ICC, this would have been the perfect team for WTC 2023 –

WTC23 champions Australia lead the way in ICC Men's Test Team of the Year 2023


ODI Format – 

World Cup finalists feature in Men's ODI Team of the Year

T20 Format – 

Firepower aplenty in ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year for 2023

Let’s discuss each format’s team briefly – 


In Test –

Only two Indian players, led by captain Pat Cummins of Australia, were selected for the ICC Men’s Test Squad of the Year. Superstar batsman Virat Kohli and India skipper Rohit Sharma were left out of the ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year roster.


The captain of the World Test Championship 2023 has been selected to lead a formidable team consisting of five superstar players from Australia. In addition to Cummins, the roster also includes fast bowler Mitchell Starc, wicketkeeper Alex Carey, opener Usman Khawaja, and WTC Final centurion Travis Head.


Australia’s Usman Khawaja is batting terrifically. He’s the top run-scorer of 2023 with over 1,000 Test runs under his belt, securing his spot in the ICC’s Test Team of the Year for the second year running. He’s joined by fellow Aussies Travis Head, the WTC Final hero, and wicketkeeper Alex Carey, making it a strong showing for the team down under.


ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year for 2023

Usman Khawaja, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kane Williamson, Joe Root, Travis Head, Ravindra Jadeja, Alex Carey (WK), Pat Cummins (C), Ravichandran Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Stuart Broad.


In ODI Layout – 

Team India dominates the ICC’s ODI Team of the Year. Led by captain Rohit Sharma, 6 Indian players were able to register their names in the list, including top run-scorer Shubman Gill (1584 runs!). Virat Kohli and Rohit himself also shine with impressive scores. Besides the batters, Shami, Siraj, and Kuldeep punched their names in the list and this was all possible due to their exceptional bowling records in 2023. As they were the top three bowlers of 2023 who fetched the most wickets, Kuldeep Yadav – 49 wickets, Mohd. Siraj – 44 wickets and Shami – 43 wickets. Other notable inclusions are Travis Head (century in the World Cup final), Heinrich Klaasen (South Africa’s star keeper), and bowling allrounder Marco Jansen. Spin genius Adam Zampa (38 wickets in 2023) has also proved his worth in the World Cup 2023.


ICC’s ODI Team of the Year:

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Travis Head, Virat Kohli, Daryl Mitchell, Heinrich Klassen (WK), Marco Jansen, Adam Zampa, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami.


In T20 Cricket – 

The International Cricket Council (ICC) unveiled their Men’s T20I Team of the Year for 2023, and India shines bright with four players cutting. Leading the charge is the top-ranked batsman himself, Suryakumar Yadav. Not only did he dominate with his batting, but he also captained the Indian team in the absence of regular skipper Rohit Sharma and his deputy Hardik Pandya. This achievement comes in a year marked by the T20 World Cup, highlighting India’s strong presence in the shortest format of the game.

India, led by Suryakumar “SKY” Yadav, rocked two T20I series after the World Cup. SKY kept his #1 batter ranking, and now joins 10 other stars in the ICC’s best T20I team of 2023!

Jaiswal, Bishnoi join Surya in men’s T20I Team of the Year

SKY isn’t alone, he’s joined by opener Jaiswal, who crushed 430 runs this season. Spin sensation Bishnoi, the #1 ranked bowler, snatched a spot too, along with pace ace Arshdeep, who took 26 wickets. India’s got batting, bowling, and everything in between for this dream T20I team.

ICC men’s T20I team of the Year:

Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Phil Salt, Nicholas Pooran, Mark Chapman, Sikandar Raza, Alpesh Ramjani, Mark Adair, Ravi Bishnoi, Richard Ngarava, Arshdeep Singh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *