ICC World Cup 2023 Award Winners: Virat Kohli Bags Player of the Tournament

The Australian team secured their 10th ICC and 6th World Cup titles as they beat India to win the Cricket World Cup 2023 on Sunday, November 19. A long winning streak of India ended, leaving millions heartbroken and shattered. This is not the first time that India choked in the finals against Australia, 2003 was the year when after surpassing all the hurdles, India secured its position in the finals but the same thing happened and they lost by 125 runs. Keeping aside the title of winners or losers, many recognizable awards were given to players whose contributions made this edition of the World Cup more memorable.

World Cup 2023 Awards Winner:

Indian players dominated the leaderboard list in this World Cup with Kohli topping the scoring chart and Mohammed Shami dominating the bowling section. Kohli scored 765 runs, 168 runs more than second-placed Rohit Sharma to clinch the biggest award.

So here is the list of the awards –

1. Player of the Tournament –

Virat Kohli bags the ‘Player of the Tournament Award’ as he scored the highest number of runs (765) in a single edition of the World Cup. He played consistently brilliant innings and he even scored three tons and 6 half-centuries followed by 1 wicket taken. He has put all his sweat and blood into this but ended up losing the unfortunate battle. Rohit Sharma and Mohd. Shami could also be a contender for this title.

2. Player of the Match in the Final –

Travis Head secured this title as he secured a whopping 137 runs in the finals and led the team in the streets of finals. He stabilized the situation as Australians were down on 47 for 3 wickets. But his responsible innings fetched him the title and played such innings that it will be remembered for the generations.

3. Most Runs

Virat Kohli secured the highest runs in this and in all seasons of the World Cup. He scored 765 runs in this World Cup surpassing the ‘God of Cricket’ record of 673 runs which he scored in the 2003 World Cup. Virat Kohli scored 3 hundreds and 6 fifties which is 2nd highest after De Kock.

4. Highest Score

Glenn Maxwell grabbed this award as he scored 201 runs in 128 balls against Afghanistan which could be termed as a legendary knock by any player because he got injured and had the worst cramp leaving his legs stuck on the ground without any movement. Besides these difficulties, he performed extravagantly well and took the team out of a losing game.

5. Most Hundreds –

Quinton de Kock bagged this award for the most no. of centuries by making 4 tons. Unfortunately, he lost in the semi-finals against Australia which deeply impacted many cricket fans as they wished to see one of their favorite player in the finals.

Here is the list of other players who scored centuries –

Player Centuries
Rachin Ravindra 3
Virat Kohli 3
Glenn Maxwell 2
Travis Head 2
Mitchell Marsh 2

6. Most fifties –

As discussed above he was leading the scoreboards with 765 runs in the single edition of the World Cup with 3 tons and 6 fifties.

Here is the list of other players who scored half-centuries –

Player Half-Centuries
Shubhman Gill 4
Babar Azam 4
Pathum Nissanka 4
Amartullah Omarzai 3
Aiden Markram 3

7. Most Wickets –

Mohd. Shami was the leading wicket-keeper in the World Cup as he got 24 wickets in just 7 innings. His most fascinating innings came in the semi-finals against NZ when he took 7 wicket haul which is the highest by any Indian bowler. He also took the fastest 50 wickets in the history of the ICC World Cup.

Other top wicket scorers include –

Player Wickets
Adam Zampa 23
Dilshan Madushanka 21
Jasprit Bumrah 20
Gerald Coetzee 20
Shaheen Afridi 18

8. Best figures –

Again Shami bagged this award for his brilliant performance in the whole series and his best innings against NZ in the semis where he took 7 wickets for 57 runs.

9. Most Sixes – 

India’s skipper Rohit Sharma claimed this award for smashing the most no. of sixes. His phenomenal leadership and selfless innings landed the team India in the finals. He smashed 31 sixes in this edition and became the first player to hit the maximum no. of sixes in any season of the World Cup.

Other players who continued on his footprints were –

Player Sixes
David Warner 24
Shreyas Iyer 24
Glenn Maxwell 22
Daryl Mitchell 22
Mitchell Marsh 21

10. Most Catches –

Daryl Mitchell bagged this award as he took 11 catches and also did a good batting spell, especially against India where he scored 130 and 137 against India. He was a lone warrior in the semis and was single-handedly handling the team.

11. Most dismissals by wicketkeeper –

Quinton de Kock grabbed this award for most dismissals. He did 20 dismissals in 10 matches.

12. Highest Striker Rate –

Glenn Maxwell has a strike rate of 150.37 which is the highest in this edition of the World Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *